Tikka Shooters Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our store at www.tikkaperformance.com

Author Topic: Tikka T3x action screw torque  (Read 1323 times)

Adam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Tikka T3x action screw torque
« on: January 02, 2019, 10:20:15 AM »

Hi guys I'm new here just had a question and figured this would be the best place for an answer. I bought a new tikka t3x and took the action screws out(which i noticed were pretty loose from the factory) removed the stock and adjusted the trigger. I put the stock back on and tightened the screws about 30"lbs in the back and about 25" lbs in the front. Now my magazine wont click into place. I found my action screws need to be almost loose enough to where I can undo them with just my fingers for my magazine to click in place. This cant be normal can it? The screws were loose right out of the box. Whats going on?
Logged

37L1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 100
Re: Tikka T3x action screw torque
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2019, 11:34:37 AM »

Make sure that the lug has seated properly to the barrel.  Many do this by putting the action and action screws in the stock loosely fastened, then taking the butt of the rifle stock and bumping it on the floor a few times to make sure the lug has set in the barrel notch.  Then tighten the screws, alternating front to back until you reach a torque you are comfortable with. Be careful that you don't over torque the plastic bottom metal because it will crack if you over do it.

Check this thread:
http://www.tikkashooters.com/public_html/gunsmithing/tikka-torque-settings/

Hopefully this will solve your issue.
« Last Edit: January 02, 2019, 11:36:23 AM by 37L1 »
Logged
Every day is Judgment Day

Adam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Tikka T3x action screw torque
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2019, 01:11:05 PM »

Thanks for trying to help, but I just tried that.  I still cant tighten either of the screws to even 15"lbs or my magazine doesnt latch. I dont understand this. ???
Logged

37L1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 100
Re: Tikka T3x action screw torque
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2019, 04:34:43 PM »

Have you taken the action/barrel out of the stock and removed the bottom metal to see if there is anything binding, broken or obstructing the fit of either component?  That's where I would look next.  Then when you replace both make sure that the barrel/action fits properly in the stock before tightening the action screws.

Logged
Every day is Judgment Day

Adam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Tikka T3x action screw torque
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2019, 05:29:58 PM »

I've removed the stock completely and everything looks normal. The action fits back into the stock pretty simply. The barrel lug is in the notch when I tighten the screws. Maybe my magazine's defective? Like I said my action screws were loose, brand new out of the box..and loose is the only way it seems to work. Just can't understand how that could be normal. Gun shoots 1" btw. But somthing seems not right about how loose those screws have to be
Logged

Darryle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Tikka T3x action screw torque
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2019, 04:18:47 AM »

Are you getting the recoil lug seated correctly? I would get some wax or modeling clay and do a fit check. Use a rolling pin and roll out a thin layer of clay and put this into the area you think may be binding and tighten screws until the magazine refuses to seat or binds. This will give you an idea of whats happening inside the seating area.
Logged

Adam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Tikka T3x action screw torque
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2019, 05:52:48 PM »

Yes I can feel the recoil lug pop into place its my understamding thats the thin notch that fits into the protruded strip on the inside of the stock...everything goes together fine. Does tikka even have sombody i can talk to or do i just have to call where I bought it?
Logged